Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player



Jazz Dance requires bodyline and flexible torso. It emphasizes on fast, accurate footwork and isolations. Jazz classes at SPAS are based on Modern Jazz syllabi of Commonwealth Society of Teachers of Dancing (C.S.T.D.), Australia. The syllabi range from beginner to professional level. However this course is suitable also for students who are interested in just having fun and developing body fitness.

The school also encourages students to take annual examination. An examiner from Australia is invited to examine the students once a year. Successful candidates will receive certificates and report cards of C.S.T.D.

Modern Jazz syllabi consist of 14 levels:

  • Pre Modern Jazz
  • Junior Modern Jazz
  • Grade 1
  • Grade 2
  • Grade 3
  • Grade 4
  • Grade 5
  • Dorothy Gladstone Award
  • Grade 6
  • Grade 7
  • Grade 8
  • Jazz Shield
  • Teaching Certificate
  • Teaching Diploma